On Bouge

is a French (European) folk dance club. Think of it like a friendly ceilidh with a French twist.

Beginners and visitors are always very welcome. We’ll show you the easy steps so you can join in right away. No partner necessary, but better to bring them than leave them at home :-) You can also come just to listen to the great live music.

We dance several types of dances from different regions of France:

  • The Bourrée comes from central France and is danced facing a partner in lines or set formations.
  • The Schottische, Mazurka, Polka and Valse are popular couple dances danced all over France.
  • Breton dances such as Gavotte des Montagnes, An Dro, Hanter Dro, Dans Plinn and  Suite de Loudéac are danced in long snaking lines which intermingle and diverge.

Musicians – develop your repertoire and technique for dance-related music in an informal setting: contact chris@gigcb.com for more info.

Dates:

We meet monthly normally on the 2nd Friday of the month. Dancing starts at 7:30pm.There is no bar so please BYO booze.

2016

  • Summer break: No meetings July and August
  • Friday 9th September 2016
  • Friday 16th September – with The Savage Prunes
  • Friday 14th October – with Jean-Pierre Champeval and Olivier Durif
  • Friday 11th November – Duo Mistral and Trio Violoneux de JPC-OD
  • Friday 9th December – Christmas Party, with {wait and see!] Bring festive snacks and drink to share

2017

  • Friday 13th January -
  • Friday 10th February -
  • Friday 10th March -
  • Friday 14th April – Good Friday: No club night.
  • Friday 12th May -
  • Friday 9th June -
  • Off to French festivals: CLOSED until September

Venue:
Primrose Hill Community Centre
29 Hopkinson’s Place
London NW1 8TN

Nearest tube Chalk Farm or Camden Town
Map: http://g.co/maps/ta6nf

Entry: £9 (£7 concs)

For more information, and to join the email list, please email us on info@onbouge.org

Comments are closed.